Go Back   NFL UK Forums > National Football League > NFL TV coverage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do you watch Gamepass?
Old
  (#1)
Buffrey Foo
Pro Bowler
 
Buffrey Foo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 880
Join Date: 18.09.2006
Location: Devon
Default How do you watch Gamepass? - 02.07.2012, 04:47 PM

I`m in the market for a new TV, so I was wondering who has had experience watching GP on an internet TV and is it worth the extra cost, or do you hook your laptop/PC up to an HD TV, and if so is the picture sharp and clear and not suffer from any decrease in quality?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
remcogras
Pro
 
remcogras's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: 19.12.2008
Default 02.07.2012, 05:14 PM

Well, I connect my laptop to my 720P TV via HDMI and it looks okay. I wouldn't call it great, as it's obvious that the material is <720P and the bitrate isn't very high.

Please bear in mind that the image quality will degrade if you watch it on a 1080i/p television, but in the end the experience will be better compared to watching it on your PC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Jonny73
All Pro
 
Jonny73's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,018
Join Date: 02.11.2008
Location: Cleckheaton
Default 02.07.2012, 05:24 PM

I use my iPad to AirPlay GamePass to My Apple TVs. I have one in the lounge, study and bedroom.

My Panasonic SmartViera GT50 50" Plasma doesn't work with GamePass and I think other TV web browsers will have the same problem with Flash video.

Interestingly, my TV has an MLB app built-in but the picture from the Apple TV app is still better. I hope the NFL do an Apple TV app this season.

Last edited by Jonny73; 02.07.2012 at 05:30 PM..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
andyduff85
Pro
 
andyduff85's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 58
Join Date: 12.08.2010
Default 02.07.2012, 05:47 PM

I have a PC connected to a 43inch TV via hdmi. Picture quality is superb, can hardly tell the difference between gamepass & watching on Sky.

Please consider your Internet connection before making any expensive purchases as this will probably have the greatest impact on the picture quality. I've run it on 20mb and it was fine (although I now have 50mb, but there's no real difference TBH). I'd suggest anything from 10mb and above if your after a reliable HD quality picture.

I'd do some research before buying an Internet TV, I VERY MUCH doubt it could access gamepass. Most of the content on those devices are accessed using apps developed specifically for it.

Last edited by andyduff85; 02.07.2012 at 05:50 PM..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Vincent
Super Moderator
 
Vincent's Avatar
 
Status: Online
Posts: 14,542
Join Date: 02.02.2007
Location: Pontypridd
Default 02.07.2012, 05:51 PM

I can't leave a Gamepass thread go without mentioning that you get 10% cash back for purchasing via Quidco - for the sake of an extra click you'd be mad not to...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
remcogras
Pro
 
remcogras's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: 19.12.2008
Default 02.07.2012, 06:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyduff85 View Post
HD quality picture..
It's not that great..

The stream has a resolution of 960 x 540 (if I recall correctly) and a mediocre bitrate, there is plenty of improvements that can be made in this area.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
MockingJay33
All Pro
 
MockingJay33's Avatar
 
Status: Online
Posts: 3,455
Join Date: 14.01.2012
Location: Bedford
Default 02.07.2012, 07:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by remcogras View Post
It's not that great..

The stream has a resolution of 960 x 540 (if I recall correctly) and a mediocre bitrate, there is plenty of improvements that can be made in this area.
My gamepass picture whether NFL Network or a live game has always been in full HD on 720p laptop and 1080p tv. The stream quality depends a lot on your connection speed, what programs you're running and computer processor.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
remcogras
Pro
 
remcogras's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: 19.12.2008
Default 02.07.2012, 08:03 PM

No it's not.. it's always 960 x 540, pressing 'full screen' only stretches it so it covers the entire screen. And no, that has nothing to do with my internet (Dutch -> 120Mbit).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
KevinM2
Starter
 
KevinM2's Avatar
 
Status: Online
Posts: 212
Join Date: 18.04.2009
Default 02.07.2012, 08:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by remcogras View Post
No it's not.. it's always 960 x 540
Even on the Apple Tv 3?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
remcogras
Pro
 
remcogras's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: 19.12.2008
Default 02.07.2012, 08:18 PM

Always. Some devices may try to upscale it, but it will never be proper HD.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump