Flag Football in Schools - NFL UK Forums
NFL UK Mobile Logo

Go Back   NFL UK Forums > National Football League > NFL in the UK

Sponsored Links

Old 06.08.2012, 02:39 PM
Rookie

Question Flag Football in Schools

I am a primary school teacher, who has been following the NFL since Joe Montana captured my imagination as a teenager.
From September I will be teaching PE to years 5 & 6 (9-11yr olds). The syllabus says I have to teach them rugby but I'm determined to teach them flag football. My Head supports me in this but that's as far as my support goes.
I've tried NFLUK and various 'grass roots' organisations and haven't even got a single response! This apathy is very disappointing so I've decided to try the fan forum for suggestions/ideas on how I can take my dream forward.
I've been watching the youtube coaching videos and - at a push - can make some flag belts, but kids these days will see through this and laugh at the sport that I love.

I'm at your mercy...
Sponsored Links
Old 06.08.2012, 03:35 PM
All Pro

There have been a few threads on here recently about American Football in UK schools, not just talking about it but ACTUALLY DOING IT.

It maybe worth checking these threads and PM'ing/contacting some of those involved to compare notes.

https://forum.nfluk.com/showthread.php?t=90578

https://forum.nfluk.com/showthread.php?t=90435

https://forum.nfluk.com/showthread.php?t=89648

There may be more going back a bit further, I didn't really check too thoroughly.
Old 07.08.2012, 06:31 AM
Rookie

Brilliant - thanks for your help.
Old 07.08.2012, 09:57 AM
MVP

I'm planning to do the same this year, to hopefully run an after school club.

I'd suggest using tag rugby tags as flags, it makes sense to do it that way.

Do you have any playing or coaching experience? That will help you with the way to go forward, but it's not essential.